RAID Calculator

Raid Calculator

RAID, which is short for “Redundant Array of Independent Disks”, is a technology that was designed to combine multiple hard drives into a single storage unit. There are many different levels of RAID and they all have different speed and fault tolerance properties.

Our RAID Calculator is designed to determine the degree to which each RAID Level is fault tolerant. Level 0 is not fault tolerant, whereas, levels 1, 5, 6, and 1+0 are fault tolerant to a completely different degree. In specific, if one of the hard drives of this array fails. The data is reconstructed using the other hard drives and no access interruption happens. Levels 2, 3, and 4 are theoretically defined, but not used in common practice.

Number of Disks:

Size of Each Drive:


Select Your RAID Configuration:

Raid 0

Raid 1 — 2 Drives

Raid 10 or 0+1 — Minumum 4 Drives

Raid 5 — Minumum 3 Drives

Raid 6 — Minumum 4 Drives

Raid 50 — Minumum 6 Drives

Raid 60 — Minumum 8 Drives

Total Available Space:


Get a Free Estimate Today!